top of page
  • Writer's pictureShreyas Sri

The Path to Mentorship

Over the last 2 weeks, my primary goal was to finish strong when concerning the important interviewing process as a part of my ISM journey and transition into the process of finding a mentor. A mentor is something that is truly valuable, especially in my field of law, as they can help give me a clear understanding of the realities associated with a profession. Therefore, due to my early interview success as a result of altruistic professionals providing me with contacts and making the overall ISM interview process more efficient, I am truly taking the time to evaluate my current position, work closely with the ISM instructor, Mr. Pirtle, and work towards securing a mentor.

Overall, these past 2 weeks have provided the endpoint for a set of trends beginning with the start of my ISM journey, and have highlighted my overall professional growth in the way that I conduct interviews. Based on feedback from a professional at the ISM Business Symposium that stated that I sounded scripted and rather robotic, I truly took efforts to improve on these skills while going through the process of interviews. As a result of these efforts, based on both myself and the professionals I have spoken to, there has been a clear improvement in my conversational abilities. Furthermore, I am very excited about the upcoming week as I am seeing tangible progress in the process of narrowing down and securing a mentor.

However, naturally, these past 2 weeks have brought on challenges that I had to deal with and will deal with in the near future. The first one is likely going to be a constant throughout my junior year, but the intense course rigor and workloads are very tough to balance with the ISM process. These last 2 weeks especially have been characterized by intense work and many important deadlines. Additionally, although I am overall excited about reaching out to possible mentors, there is still that natural fear of rejection and the difficult process of perfecting the specific approach to asking for a mentorship.

Therefore, in the coming week, my first goal is to truly work on perfecting my work-life balance. Thankfully, the upcoming Thanksgiving break will prove useful to complete work and provide overall respite, however, that should not be an excuse to exhibit laziness during this upcoming week. Furthermore, as touched upon earlier, my second goal is to hopefully secure a mentor before Thanksgiving break, therefore, I will need to do significant practice and work closely with Mr. Pirtle to make sure that I am truly ready to tackle this monumental milestone as a part of my broader ISM journey.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page